Bon voyage…   Leave a comment

A little story for tonight.

I don’t know anyone who hasn’t been bewitched by summer moonlit nights. The most special of them all, the night of the full moon, rising behind Acropolis or shining over a beach in the Aegean,in August.

I also don’t know anoyne who has sung the August song without tears in the eyes. This song is an emotional storm raining bittersweet memories for the unbearable pain of the impossible love. It was written for the composer’s girlfriend, who died of drugs. No-one has sung it better than its maker, Nikos Papazoglou, who died of cancer today.

For me, Papazoglou, was the last of his kind. Anticipating Papazoglou summer concert would take me through the winter blues. He rarely appeared on TV. His lyrics and songs are embedded in our summer (and winter) nights, with a refined but hard truth about our day and night most inner thoughts and feelings.

I wished you had kept a lighter lit in a summer concert with Papazoglou. But this can’t happen anymore, so I send you this song in a lame video along with my poorly-translated lyrics; its lyrics a little token of love and promises you can find when bathing under the August moon, somewhere in Greece.

Kαλό ταξίδι Νίκο!

Enjoy,
Aletta

August
Why does the song have to be so sad?
You would think that it fell off my heart.
And this very moment that I am full of joy, it climbed up to my lips and is smothering me.
You would say “take care for the end”.
I love you, but I have no voice to say it and this is an unbearable grief.
I melt in pain, because I feel it as well, that the path we are taking is impassable
“Courage, this will pass”, you will say

How can I ever forget her loose hair?
The sand that was bathing me as a waterfall?
As she was leaning over me,
thousands of kisses, diamonds that she was giving me generously
I will go even if it’s not good for me in the end

On what kind of ecstatic moment, what kind of magic dance, could this creature be born?
From which distant star comes the light that went and hid in her eyes
and me, the lucky one, who has seen it.

In her sight, a tiny little sky, with lightnings and clouds unfolds
but when the nnight comes, it floods with light, the August moon rises
and the prison shines form inside.

How can I ever forget her loose hair?
The sand that was bathing me as a waterfall?
As she was leaning over me,
thousands of kisses, diamonds that she was giving me generously
I will go even if it’s not good for me in the end.

Posted Monday, 18 April, 2011 by piperi in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

